Two birds with one stone

Happy Valentine’s, dear bloggers! I thought I’d be festive and wear a pink sweater to work today…but to my surprise…everyone is wearing black and white. šŸ™‚ Are you wearing pink today?

I decided to entitle this post “Two birds with one stone” because don’t you just love when you happily get two things done at once, when you’re not even meaning to! This happened to me yesterday. I was whipping up a quick lunch for J and I and decided to bake some asparagus and add my garlic bread with it; two birds with one stone.

To bake your asparags, just add some olive oil, garlic and salt and pepper–bake on 450 for a few minutes and you’ll have some crispy yumminess.

While that was baking, I quickly washed my fruit and added it to my dishrack; two birds with one stone. Funny, right?! Actually, J’s Mom taught me this. Always wash your fruit before you put it in the fridge because then you save yourself time later. Plus, your dishrack looks super colorful! šŸ™‚

*J wanted me to note our Nalgene water bottles. Not only is it reusable, but it totally is a fun challenge to drink more water throughout the day!!

Finally, our lunch was ready. We defnitely went green–literally.

Spinach and cheese tortellini, pesto and asparagus.

Now, it’s off to work…but before I do…I wanted to send you a quick link of what’s new on Today. This morning, I watched as I ate my yogurt and blueberries and was on my couch with tears in my eyes. One of the Today show correspondents, Jenna Bush Hager, did a Valentine report on if the traditional hand written love letter is kissed away. Her grandparents even shared some of their own love letters written during the time her grandfather was away at war. At the end of the piece, both Jenna, her grandfather (and I) were in tears. šŸ™‚ As her grandfather read one of his old letters aloud to her grandmother, I could see that their love has only grown stronger for one another throughout the years. It was beautiful. It made me want to write a love letter to my sweetheart today. I think I will. šŸ™‚

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Question of the Day: Have you every written or received a handwritten letter?

Leave a comment