Archive for February 1st, 2011

February 1, 2011

Waking up with the Today Show

Sometimes it is so hard to get out of bed.  Whenever J and I stay at hotels, I realize how high maintenace of sleepers we are.  We currently have an awesome mattress, comfy feather bed, down pillows, down blankets and a fan humming us to sleep.  It truly is…heavenly.  So, you can imagine my dilema of trying to wake from a peaceful slumber.  Today, I felt like I needed the extra 15 minutes of sleep, so I took it.  When I finally crawled out of bed I was hungry and ready to catch up on the news as I thought, “Oh, Today Show what will you have for me today?”

Breakfast was an egg on wheat toast with organic sharp cheese, avacado, and red onion.  What a fun mix-up from my normal yogurt, blueberries and granola.

As I sat down to eat my breakfast and caught up on my favorite morning show, I was pleasantly surprised to see that Candace Cameron was going to be a guest promoting her new book, “Reshaping It All.”   You may remember her from “Full House.”  That was when afternoon T.V. was good. 🙂  She was so candid and down to earth….I want to hang out with her!  🙂

To my surprise, I also saw The Pioneer Woman do a cooking segment with Meredith!  If you haven’t checked out her blog, you just have to.  The Pioneer Woman is a city girl gone country when she fell in love with her rancher cowboy husband.  This morning, she made a steak and pasta dish that looks A-mazing.

What a great start to the morning:  a yummy breakfast, a new book to read, a recipe to try and my local weather.  What could be better!  Oh I know…being on the Today Show! 🙂

February 1, 2011

Let’s shop!

This afternoon, my friend Carrie and I headed out for a sunset run.  It was absolutely perfect out.  For the last couple months, we’ve been regularly working out at least 2-3 times per week…running…walking…and heading to the Y on our free passes. 🙂  It’s unbelievable how a workout partner can motivate you to go a little bit faster and a little bit further.

Yes, we’re running so fast that it blurs the picture…not. 🙂

When she got here, she had two things I was excited for:  the Sunday paper and Bisquick.  It seems like everyone I talk to is coupon clipping.  So, I thought I better get on the bandwagon after hearing about all the killer deals.  The Bisquick was for our pancake dinner.

After our run, it was goodbye to Carrie, hello to coupon clipping.

After looking through what I needed/wanted, I made a quick grocery list which included:

Fruits/Veggies/Protein

  • Almonds (w/coupon)
  • Blueberries
  • Asparagus
  • Apples
  • Organic Oranges
  • Deli Meat

Essentials

  • Toliet Paper (w/coupon)
  • Bath Soap (w/coupon)
  • Hand Soap (I splurge on Bath and Body Works-I just love it.)

Now,  for the ingredients of a couple new recipes!

Giada’s Pastina w/Peas and Carrots

*Some of the ingredients I already have…I will post the full recipe when I try it out!**

  • Chicken Stock
  • Frozen Peas
  • 4 oz Cream Cheese
  • 4 oz Mascarpone Cheese
  • Fresh Basil

How Sweet It Is:  Chopped Chicken Salad

  • Tomato
  • Avacado

*Note:  sometimes I will omit dairy products because J is lactose-intolerant.  Boo to that!

Tomorrow, I’ll head to the store and get going on one of these yummy recipes!  Oooo I can’t wait!

What are you shopping for this week?