Guest post from “The Granola Chronicles”

Hello to Little Miss Fitness readers! I’m Courtney, and I blog over at The Granola Chronicles. I focus on healthy recipes (mostly, but not all, vegetarian meals), indulgent treats, Community Supported Agriculture & organic produce, as well as everyday life in northern California.


Soo contacted me a few weeks ago with some questions regarding Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) and asked if I’d be interested in sharing information about CSA programs on her blog. I adore my CSA program, and I’m a huge advocate of local & organic produce, so of course I said yes!

First of all, if you’re not familiar with Local Harvest, you should check out their website. Local Harvest is a great resource for farmers’ markets, CSA programs, organic farms and sustainably grown foods. It offers great information, and you’ll be able to search for sustainable food in your area.


CSA programs allow consumers to purchase local and seasonal food directly from farmers. It is seriously the best program in the world! By purchasing fruits and vegetables directly from the farmers and growers, the middle-man is gone, and thus a strong local economy grows. It feels good knowing the produce I consume is grown my area and didn’t have to travel far.

Many CSA programs require a yearly contract. One can sign up for produce at the beginning of the growing season and receive it until harvest is over. The CSA that my husband and I belong to is done on a week-by-week basis. We do not sign any contracts, and we are under no obligation to purchase produce every week. We just pay when we choose to receive the organic fruits and vegetables.


Many CSAs deliver the produce boxes to households and some offer drop-off locations. You’ll want to make sure you know how you will be receiving your box before you sign up for a program. Make sure it works with your schedule!

I have a lot of recipes on my blog that feature CSA produce – be sure to check it out!

If you have any questions about CSAs or local & organic produce, please reach out to me. All my contact information is on my blog. Enjoy your day and remember to eat locally!

3 Comments to “Guest post from “The Granola Chronicles””

  1. im always jealous of courtneys csa posts and now i have to see it twice!! haha

  2. 🙂 That’s so funny! I so want to join a local CSA!

Leave a Reply

