What gives you joy?

There are so many blessings in life that put a spring in my step.  Fresh flowers, a funny joke, a cool painting, a new baby, spending time with my husband, meeting new friends or hanging with old ones.  But one of my favorite blessings in life is the ability to run.  I am beyond grateful for the ability to use my arms and legs to exercise my body and my mind.

Yesterday, J ran for the first time since his nose surgery.  Before surgery, he couldn’t breathe out of his nose.  The simpliest exercises were 10x harder for him without the use of two airways.  As I write this, I’m smiling from ear to ear out of the joy and excitement that comes from the success of his surgery and his desire to lace up his shoes and start running again.

We ran together for about 20 minutes (2 miles) and then J grabbed his bike while I continued to run 25 more minutes. A total of 45:42.

As I was training for my half-marathon this past December, I rarely went by how many miles I ran, but rather how many minutes I ran.  I often say, “It’s not the miles, it’s the minutes.”  I’m not sure if this is the right way to train, but it sure worked for me.🙂

I’m excited to hit the road again after work!  Running is such a feel-good drug.  Are you addicted?

Question of the day:  What gives you joy?

4 Comments to “What gives you joy?”

  1. Lifting heavy weights gives me joy for sure, I love pushing my body🙂

  2. You never know what you can do until you go that extra mile! So true.🙂

  3. Great question!😀 some of my joys are volunteering/helping people, and working out like ROCKY. hehe

Leave a Reply

