Here’s to you, Giada!

One of my favorite things about digital cable is the Food Network.  I love sitting down on my lunch break and shutting out my messy kitchen, my bare fridge and my lack of sharp knives.  Oh if Ina and Giada could take a few minutes out of their day and give me a few tips on how to properly cut an onion, one of the first things excellent chefs master.🙂

My cooking journey started with Lean Cuisines and Hamburger Helper.  I am proud to say I can now follow a recipe and even tweek it to make it my very own.  Tonight, I tried my hand with a new ingredient:  pancetta!  The recipe was  Bacon and Pancetta Potatoes.  Thanks to a recipe by Giada and a couple extra ingredients, I created a real winner.🙂

Here’s what you need:

  • 4 thick-cut slices bacon, roughly chopped
  • 2 (1/4-inch thick) slices pancetta cut into 1/4-inch pieces
  • 3 medium russet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1 garlic clove, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, plus extra for seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, plus extra for seasoning
  • 2 tablespoons coarsely chopped fresh basil leaves
  • frozen peas (as much as you desire)
  • green onions (as much as you desire)

Pancetta!  You can find it in your local deli.

1) Add your pancetta and bacon to a skillet on medium heat.  Let it get crispy, about 10-12 minutes.  When the pancetta and bacon is done, remove from the skillet to paper towels.  (I usually try to get as much grease out as possible.)

2) Peel and cube your potatoes and add it to the skillet with your clove of garlic.  (Cook until potatoes are tender…about 25 minutes.)  Season with 1 tsp of salt and 1 tsp of pepper.

3) When potatoes are tender, add your peas, green onions, pancetta and bacon.

4) Heat for 5 more mintues and garnish with basil. Then, eat up!

Thanks, Giada for yet another dinner winner!🙂

Question of the day:  What’s your favorite Food Network show?

4 Comments to “Here’s to you, Giada!”

  1. I could watch the FN all day everyday.. Hmmm my favorite one would be Iron Chef probably. But Rachel Ray is my girl!

  2. Have you watched the Cooking channel yet? It’s just as good, but maybe better than the Food Network!🙂

  3. I love the way Giada pronounces pancetta🙂

    My favorite FN chef is Alton Brown. I don’t really like his show, but he is HOT!

Leave a Reply

