Morning Ride

Greetings and Salutations blog world!

My name is J.J. and I’m married to Little Miss Fitness. Today I’m making my first guest appearance on her blog. It feels great, thanks for having me Soo!

This post is about life’s little moments when you’re surprised with a smile and say to yourself, “Wow, I’m having a great day!”  You might have been on the golf course chipping in for birdie, maybe you were clicking into your ski’s on top of  a mountain, or maybe you were riding your bike to work with a new coat on. This past Tuesday my morning commute was a bicycle ride in a 60 degree February fog, and I was definitely thinking about how great of a day I was having.

Passed this building along the way...

To me, owning a bicycle is utterly important. And any kind of bike will do! It’s easy on the environment, the maintenance costs are low, and of course it’s a great way to burn a few calories! I have the luxury of a short commute, which I usually tackle by walking. However, from time to time, I’ll ride my bike to save a few more minutes. On Tuesday, the morning air was crisp and buildings were socked in. The temperature was nice and the roads were super clear. My new Patagonia Slopstyle Hoodie was extremely comfortable (the thumb-holes were a nice touch) and as I reclined back and rode without hands, I smiled and thought, “Wow, I’m having a great day!” I went right to my class, grabbed a sheet of [recycled] paper, and created a quick piece of artwork that symbolized my experience. Hopefully I can pedal some more bicycle art soon!

Copyright J.J. Peterson 2011

Tuesday really was a great day. Some people start their day with a cup o’ joe, maybe the morning paper, a walk with the dog…I started mine with a relaxing, cool ride on my bicycle. Now go do the same!

Thanks for reading! And stop by upperparkart.blogspot.com to see more of my art.🙂

4 Comments to “Morning Ride”

  1. I’ve wanted a bike forever!! I just want to buy a nice one and I cant afford one juuust yet.

  2. That’s so great! I just got one from my husband for Christmas!🙂 It’s a hybrid…so not a road bike…not a beach cruiser–just in between.🙂

  3. I bought a bike last year🙂 I don’t ride it nearly as often as I should, but if I move I won’t have a car, so I guess I have no choice🙂

  4. That’s great, Kate!🙂 I have to admit, I don’t ride my bike nearly enough to work–but I should. I should make an effort to make sure I get out of the door a few minutes early so I can do so!🙂

Leave a Reply

