Mascarpone what?!

As I’m writing this, my eyes are glued to the gameshow, “Minute to Win it.”  Have you seen it?  Wow, it’s seriously so silly, but amazing how good people are at the weirdest tasks.  Bouncing pencils into a cup, stacking cups, using the air from a balloon to knock over cups…really weird.

Anyway, tonight was my errand night.  I ran to the grocery store and picked up the things I needed for “Giada’s Pastina with Peas and Carrots” as well as a few other things.  One of the items needed for the pasta dish was mascarpone cheese.  Before tonight, I had absolutely no idea what I was looking for.  Luckily, it was in the fancy cheese section, the section I very rarely visit because my knowledge of fine cheese is limited.🙂

Here’s what I needed:

  • 8 oz pastina or other small-shaped pasta (I combined penne and rotini)
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 small onion, finely diced
  • 2 medium carrots, peeled and diced into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 C low-sodium chicken stock
  • 1 C frozen peas, thawed
  • 1/2 C cream cheese, at room temp
  • 1/2 C mascarpone cheese, at room temp
  • Kosher salt
  • 2 T chopped fresh basil leaves
  • 1 garlic clove (the original recipe didn’t call for this, but I added it for more pizazz.🙂

First off, boil some water (hint! if you add a little butter to the water, it won’t boil over!) and add your 8 oz of pasta.  While that is cooking, heat your 2 T of olive oil and add your onion and garlic.  Once your onion is tender, add carrots and 1 C chicken stock.  Turn up the heat so it starts to boil.  Once it boils, bring the temp back down to a simmer and cook for 5 minutes.  After 5 minutes, add your peas and simmer until peas are heated through and carrots are tender.

Stir in your cooked and drained pasta and add the cheeses. Garnish with your chopped basil and enjoy!

For dessert, I tried out some break and bake cookies from the “Immaculate Baking Company.”

All Natural, buy one get one free cookies.  Yes, I think that’s a deal!🙂

My critique?  They’re good…not great…but I’m a sucker for Tollhouse.🙂

Leave a Reply

