Taking care of my man, J-man

Yesterday, my man underwent a procedure that will (Lord willing) allow him to breathe out of his nose.

When J and I started dating, we were going to college in Minnesota.  (If you’ve ever experienced a MN winter, you’d know the biting cold that takes your breath away during the months of December-February.  I didn’t realize how miserable it was until I moved down south and went back to visit last Christmas.  Wow.)  Anyway, during our years of knowing one another I always knew J had a hard time breathing out of his nose, but had no idea how bad it was until we were married and I lived with him.  It’s amazing how much energy it takes out of you when you’re constantly fighting for air.  Bless his heart, he even ran a half-marathon with me during this time…and did well!

We finally decided to check into what he can do after having a procedure done 5 years ago.  We researched and found a great ENT doc and met with him more than once to go over the procedure.  Yesterday around 3:30, he was on his way to recovery. :)  Yay!

So, what does one make when one is sick?  Chicken Noodle Soup of course!  After finding a recipe I knew would be a winner courtesy of allrecipes.com, I headed to the store to get a few ingredients.

**Items not pictured are:  chicken, basil and oregano**

  • 1 T. butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1/2-1 cup chopped carrots
  • 4 (14.5 oz) cans chicken broth
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can vegetable broth
  • 1/2 lb cooked chicken
  • 1 1/2 cups egg noodles (if you prefer a thicker soup, add more egg noodles.🙂
  • 1/2 t. dried basil
  • 1/2 t. dried oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste!

**NOTE:  This meal took me 30 minutes to put together!  Not bad!**

After cooking my chicken, I did a little chop here and there of celery, onion and carrot and off to the pan to sautee in 1 T of butter for about 5 minutes or until soft.

Then, I added my veggies, chicken, chicken and vegetable broth to a nice big kettle and put a dash of basil and oregano into the mix with 1 1/2 c of egg noodles and heat thoroughly.

Looks good, but needs one last thing…

mini SALTINES.  Now, this is how I take care of my man.🙂

Here’s my question for you…what’s your favorite food to eat when you’re under the weather?

Leave a Reply

